Where Were You On 9/11?

220508_469068639781157_471892553_o

Preface

When this time of year comes around, media outlets become a buzz with 911 memorial stories, documentaries, interviews with survivors, etc.  Unfortunately, one common thread starts to rear it’s ugly head amongst people who discuss or comment on whatever 911 piece that may be shared by the media.

It seems that many people can’t bring themselves away from the geopolitical discussions or conspiracy theories for any amount of time, all the while forgetting about the innocent people who lost their lives in a most gruesome way.

I will be the first to admit that i do not believe that 911 occured as the official government account says it did.  Call me crazy, call me what you will, but there are many unanswered questions.  Though, i digress.

On this day, if only for a day, let us all put aside our political affiliations, finger pointing, differing conspiracy theories and hate for other people, and let’s not forget about the thousands of people who lost their lives while simply living out their day.

God bless you all and may you rest in peace.

 

The following account of my memory of that day, has not been changed since the day i wrote it a few years back.  I have contemplated editing it and making it more polished; but seeing as what you will read just flowed from me, i am going to leave it untouched.

Throughout history, there have been moments that will never be forgotten because of their sheer magnitude and impact on human history as a whole.  Moments like Pearl Harbour, Nagasaki & Hiroshima, JFKs assassination, MLKs assassination, RFKs assassination, the fall of the Berlin Wall, Apollo 11… and the list goes on.  Ask anyone who lived through those moments in history and they will most likely be able to tell you what they were doing and where they were on that historic day.

Today is September 11th.  Just thinking about that day gives me the shivers, I get goose bumps.  I remember it like it was yesterday and I remember exactly what I was doing and where.

I had just started my shift at work when I heard the news of a small aircraft hitting one of the twin towers.  I really paid no attention and put it down to a freak accident by an inexperienced pilot.

The music on the radio was then interrupted again, with another report of another aircraft hitting the twin towers.  I stopped, thought about it and said to myself that this is no coincidence.

All of a sudden, my phone line went down.  Later that day, I would find out that my phone line went dead because our long-distance carrier had it’s phone lines going through downtown Manhattan and the attack on the twin towers affected those lines.

I sat there, staring at my phone, listening to the radio and tried to comprehend the correlation between what I heard on the radio and our phones just quitting.  It was the most eerie feeling that I have ever had.

As more and more information came to me over the radio, I began to realize that what was happening in NY was far worse than first reported.

After about an hour or so, I started to make my way home.  As I stepped outside, I noticed how quiet it was.  Why was it so quiet I asked myself??  What was it that was missing?  It then dawned on me, there was nothing flying in the air. Nothing, nada, zero, zilch.

It was a very strange feeling.  I always look up to the sky when an airplane goes over my head; therefore, I am tuned in to the sound of aircraft.  Hearing nothing at all made me pause and wonder what the hell was going on.

I made it home and I turned on my TV.  There was no channel, none whatsoever, that was not reporting on what happened in NY that day.

I did not bother to sit down, I couldn’t.  The details of what had happened started to bombard me and I was trying to take it all in.  Then they started to show it…

They started to show video footage of the aircraft hitting the twin towers and they kept showing it over and over and over and over and over and over…  I stood there, numb, not being able to feel myself.  I could not comprehend what I was seeing.  Was this a sick joke? was this a Hollywood movie?  What on earth was I watching?

I just stood there watching what was coming up on the TV screen.  It was all so surreal.  But my senses where about to be assaulted even more by what was going to transpire next.

Right in front of my eyes, on my TV set, I watched as one tower fell.

Right then and there, I felt as though time had stopped.  There was just me and this image of the tower falling, floors pancaking on top of each other.  It seemed like an eternity; but in reality, it lasted but a few minutes, if that.

I realized my mouth was open in awe and amazement and I started to snap out of the trance that I was in.  I started to compute what I had just witnessed on live TV.  And then it hit me…

What about the people inside the building? No, no.. there was no way that anyone could have survived that.  At that time, no one really knew how many people could have been inside those towers.  There could have been a few thousand, there could have been tens of thousands.  No one knew.

And then the second tower went.

I was left in absolute disbelief.   Did this really just happen?  It was beyond comprehension, there were no words for anyone to use in order to make any sense of what had just transpired.

A few days later, I was on my way to work and an airplane flying low over the city suddenly appeared over head.  The first airplane I had seen or heard for some days at that point.

It scared the shit out of me!  I actually crouched down while looking up.  Before 9/11, hearing and seeing airplanes fly over head was an everyday occurrence, it was part of everyday life.  This airplane flying over head a few days after 9/11, made my heart skip a beat.  It seemed so out of place, breaking the silence that was.  What was this aircraft up to?  There was some paranoia in me for the next couple of days.

I will never forget.

4 thoughts on “Where Were You On 9/11?

  1. Angel_by_ur_side (Wifey)

    I salute you for making this blog to honoured all the people who lost their lives and for all the people involved in 9/11.

    Let us offer a moment of silence and a prayer for those affected by the tragic event . We will always remember those that were involved that they may rest in peace and even the heroes!

    Like

  2. I remember that day only a bit, I was still in primary school, my friend had her birthday that day. We were so happy, eating candies. Then I walked back home and look on scared faces of my parents, later they have shown airplanes crushing into WTC. I couldn`t sleep well for next week after that. So many innocent lives were taken away that day, sigh.

    Like

Please share your thoughts

