Doing It Manually

I had to go downtown today in order to bring my phone in for repair.  Luckily for me, there was one day left on the warranty!  Thank goodness for that.  Now i have this dorky little LG loaner phone for the next few weeks.

Seeing as though i was going downtown and have not been for a while, i brought along the camera to have a little photo walk.

I decided to attach the Canon 50mm f/1.8 FDn lens to the X-Pro1 because i have not really had a lot of practice with it.  I did bring along my 18-135 as well, but it stayed in my camera bag the whole time.  I was just having to much fun using the 50mm.

Of course, being a Canon FDn lens, it is mounted onto the X-Pro1 via an adapter, which means that focusing is done manually.  This really is not a big issue, since i can use focus check to make sure i have a sharp image.

I shot most of the photos at ISO 200 and at an aperture of f/8 or f/11.  The photos that i took inside the church, were done at ISO 2000 at an aperture of f/2.8.

Surprisingly, i got the hang of manually focusing the lens quite fast.  The focus ring is very smooth and has just the right amount of play in it; therefore, fine tuning the focus was not difficult to do.  Of course, when you are manually focusing, it does take a bit more time.

I really do like how the lens renders colors.  It certainly has a very different “feel” to it compared to that of my Fujinon lenses.  Despite it not being one of Canon’s best lenses, you really can’t go wrong with the 50mm FDn.

Who dares wins.

© d7100shooter.wordpress.com, All Rights Reserved

 

 

Please share your thoughts

