Being Credited For My First Photo

This post is somewhat related to my sticky post about my photos being used without permission.

However, even though my photo in this case was being used without permission, the end result of the matter was a first for me.

I may have mentioned this before, but what i have started to do, is to Google search the photos that people are clicking on.  Aside from finding out if the photo is being used without permission, looking at the photos people are clicking on also gives me a change to see what photos are interesting to people and to make sure they are properly watermarked.

Some time last week, i noticed people looking at my Old Montreal Forum photos.  These photos are of the interior of the Forum as it looks now.  Here is the post with those photos: (https://d7100shooter.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/the-old-montreal-forum/)

I took those photos back in 2013 when i took my daughter to the cinema.  I used my D7100 with the Tamron 10-24mm.  In my honest opinion, they are not the best photos and knowing what i know now, i could do a better job.

Anyhow, i right clicked on the second photo to search for it through Google and what do you know, i found it being used on no less than 3 websites.

old montreal forum

Here are the websites that i found my photo on:

1) (http://clubzone.com/blog/montreal-kick-off-2015-with-joy/)

2) (http://bergerbytes.ca/gardens-still-looking-like-old/)

3) (http://montreal.tv/portail/blog/tag/new-years-eve/)

At the same time that i was miffed about this, i was also somewhat pleased with myself.

Finding my photo being used without my permission or credit to me, i immediately contacted all three websites via their contact-us forms.  A couple of days went by and i did not hear back from anyone.

Sometimes, i think people won’t take you seriously until you send them a second, more formal email.  So, that is what i did.

The next day, i received a reply from two of the websites.  Here is the first email:

Salut Alistair, vraiment désolé pour ça est-ce que tu peux qu’on donne crédit et linker ton site ou page FB ou tu veux la faire retirer

Irois Leger

Fondateur, Montreal.TV
514.996.XXXX”

From there, we exchanged a few more emails and he ended up crediting the photo to me by putting my name under the photo.  If you go and look at the page now (same link for Montreal.tv as i put above), you will see the credit.

The second reply came in just a few hours afterwards.  Here is the email:

Thank you for notifying us about the photo. We will be sure to take it down.

Thanks”

Again, we exchanged a few more emails and they ended up crediting the photo to me.

In addition, i also heard from the author of the article in which my photo appeared.  He apologized to me and reassured me that the photo was credited to me and it is.

You can look at the link i put up for clubzone.com and you will see the credited photo.

As for the third website, i have yet to hear from the author of that site.  Though, i will make sure to keep in touch with him.

It feels good that i have credited photos out there on the internet.  All in all, both situations had a good outcome.  Yes, i suppose i could have asked for money; though, i thought it would be more beneficial to me if i had photos out there credited to me.

Money’s great, but recognition in photography is best, especially at my early stage.  After all, recognition will lead to money.

Thanks for looking.

© d7100shooter.wordpress.com, All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Being Credited For My First Photo

Please share your thoughts

