Four Stack

I took a little walk in the neighborhood today and came across this church.

These days, when i go out, i always carry my X10 with me.  It fits perfectly into my jacket pocket.  Along with the camera, i carry a spare battery as well.

Since i did not want to have ugly telegraph poles in my photo, i stood on the sidewalk to take the photo.  But, despite the X10 having a wide angle lens, i could not get the whole front of the church in the shot.  What to do??

Well, the solution to that, is to take a vertical panorama.  I did this by taking 4 exposures, each overlapping about 30%.  A good overlap is advisable in order for the software to stitch your photos together nicely.

Untitled_Panorama1

When i stitched the photos together in Photoshop Elements, the software asked me if i wanted it to “fill” the edges.  When it asks you to do this, say no if your edges have detail in them.

If you do have detail in your edges, like you see on the left and right edges of the photo below, the software is not “smart” enough to make that “fill” nice and smooth/uniform.  If it’s just clear sky in the background, you won’t have a problem.

Untitled_Panorama1bw

This vertical panorama took me under a minute…  well, it took the software and my new laptop under a minute to stitch together.  This is how my workflow has become so much easier.

Thanks for looking.

© d7100shooter.wordpress.com, All Rights Reserved

Please share your thoughts

