Vipers & Tomcats

There used to be some awesome airshows in Montreal some 20 years ago.  The biggest one was held in Mirabel and then it was scaled back some and moved to St. Hubert.

Being out on the tarmac at Mirabel, gives you a clear perspective at how huge the airport is.  It is immense and it is a shame that it has come to it’s demise.

Of course, 20 plus years ago, there was no digital camera that was affordable for a teenage kid as there is now.  All i had back then, was a P&S film camera (in earlier air shows, i used a disposable).

I have no idea what film i used, what speed, etc.  It was just to long ago.  I do vaguely remember which pictures came from what air show, but i am not sure of the years.

For the below photos, i simply scanned them and then cropped them to 4 x 6.  Perhaps not the best way to do it, but it works.

Scan0006 (3)

Scan0008 (3)

I may have lost resolution.  I am going to have to look into doing this better.

Scan0009 (3)

Scan0010 (3)

Going through the process of scanning these film prints, has made me think about film again.  I think i may have to look at some Oly’s, Canon’s and Fujica’s again.

Scan0011 (3)

Scan0012 (3)

Scan0013 (3)

My composition was really off.  I had to straighten out a lot of the photos as well.

Scan0013

“I feel the need…. the need for speed!”  I remember every line from that movie.   Seeing these Tomcats, you tended to look for Maverick & Goose.

Scan0014

Scan0015

Out of all the aircraft at the air shows, the F-14  Tomcat was THE aircraft that i always wanted to see.

Scan0016

Scan0019

Thanks for looking.

© d7100shooter.wordpress.com, All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Vipers & Tomcats

    1. Thanks. I wish they had airshows of that scale, today. They are pretty hard to get off the ground these days, at least in my neck of the woods. Keep up the good work with the models 😉

      Like

Please share your thoughts

