THE FUJINON XC 50-230MM F4.5-6.7 OIS: Part II

The pondering, the switching back and forth, the research… it’s all over.  I finally made the decision to go with the 50-230 and it arrived today.

Why did I decide to go with the 50-230 over the 55-200?:

The only reason i went with the 50-230 over the 55-200, was because of the extra 30mm.  It was as simple as that.

When i had my 55-200 Nikkor, i was always wanting just a bit more when i was doing my plane spotting.  Because of that “want”, i ended up trading in the 55-200 for a Tamron 70-300.  Therefore, i did not want to be in the same position with the Fuji 55-200.  I have learnt from the past.

f/6.7 at the long end:

Some people are so worried about it being f/6.7 on the long end, but not me.  I will only ever use this lens during the day on the most part.  Even if i were to use it in dimmer light, the XP1 performs just fine at high ISO numbers, plus the lens has OIS.

The OIS will enable me to shoot with lower shutter speeds, which means i will not have to necessarily bump up the ISO.  But again, i really don’t see myself using this lens at night.

Even with f/6.7, you can throw the background out quite nicely if your subject is far enough in the foreground.  I’m really not fretting at all.

Plastic mount:

It is still a pet peeve of mine when it comes to lens manufacturers.  If it costs you an extra $2 to put on a metal mount, so be it.  I will gladly pay the difference.

The 50-230 has a plastic mount.  Though, after having two Nikkors with plastic mounts, i am not to worried about it.

Those two Nikkors came on and off my cameras more times in a year then there are days in the year.  The 50-230 will really only be used for plane spotting and some nature shots; therefore, it will not be going on and off my camera that much.

Unboxing:

The lens is packed in a nice, black Fuji box.  Inside, you have the lens sitting in a nicely molded cardboard “bed”.  Its wrapped in a plastic bag and is covered by a cardboard lid, which holds the paperwork.  The box is not as fancy as what you get with the XF lenses.

Small??  More like tiny!  I must admit, i was expecting something bigger.  Though, i suppose i am used to the size of DSLR lenses.  My Tamron 70-300 would have dwarfed this lens.  It would have been like David & Goliath.  Now i am wondering, “why do DSLR lenses have to be so big?”.

Construction of the lens:

Since i am in the office, i have only been able to handle the lens for a few minutes.  I must say, it feels a hell of a lot better than any of my Nikkor lenses or my Tamron.  Yes, it is all plastic, but it does not have that “plastic” feel, if that makes any sense.

Focus ring and zoom ring feel very smooth, as is to be expected.  No aperture ring.  Aperture is controlled from the camera.  Oh the horror!!

I think it’s just me, but i don’t know why some people make such a big deal about not having an aperture ring on the lens.  You really only need one for certain circumstances, which i have covered in a previous post.

I am really looking forward to shooting with this lens.  I should be able to get out and about this weekend.

Happy shooting!

 

 

Please share your thoughts

