The Disabled Canada Goose On The St. Lawrence River

Since last summer, I have been meaning to post these photos up.  For some reason, today of all days, I remembered my encounter with a disabled Canadian Goose on the banks of the St. Lawrence.

DSC_2096

On a beautiful, sunny day, I decided to take a trip down to Ile St. Helene for a photo trek.  While walking along the path that runs parallel with the water, I noticed at least 50 geese sitting under the De La Concorde bridge, not far from the shore.

DSC_2095

One particular goose caught my eye.  He was all by his lonesome, perched on a rock.  It seemed strange that this one goose was sitting there, all by himself, while everyone else was at least 20 feet away.

DSC_2093

Out of curiosity and wanting to get a photo of him, I made my way down the small cliff and onto the rocky beach where the goose was standing.

I started to take photos of him and as I did, I was able to get closer and closer to him.  As I got within 6-8 feet of him, I noticed that he had not even flinched.  He made no attempt to fly away or even get into the water to get away from me.  This was very strange I thought.

DSC_2089

As I made my way to the other side of him, I finally realized why he was not moving or making any attempt to get away from me: his left wing was injured.

It was just drooping down by his side, as if it was broken.  He did manage to pick it up a few times, but only to drop it down again.

DSC_2088

I took some photos of his injured wing and in the end, I managed to get within about 5 feet of him.

DSC_2084

When I got home, I searched the internet for wild life rescue organizations here in Montreal.  I was able to find one and I sent them an email with the photos I had taken.

Till this day, I have not heard back from them and I have no idea what happened to that goose.  I suppose if no one went to help him out, he probably did not make it.  I can’t imagine that he would survive without being able to fly or get into the water.

DSC_2082

Who dares wins.

© d7100shooter.wordpress.com, All Rights Reserved

Please share your thoughts

