To SLR Or Not To SLR, That Is The Question.

Yet again, I find myself in one of those “photographers” conundrums: should I by an SLR or not?  Of course, this is not one of those decisions that every “photographer” goes through, but it is one of those, “should I… ?” moments.  Should I get that lens?  Should I get that second camera? Etc.  It leaves you weighing all the pros & cons; while at the same time, looking at your bank account to see if you can afford it.

In this particular case, the money really isn’t the problem.  No, I am not rich.  My “should i” scenario would only cost a couple of hundred bucks.  Pretty cheap in the world of photography.

What’s the big idea:  Okay, so what is it that I am wanting to do?  What I have been thinking about doing, is buying an old film SLR and not the automatic ones either.  What I have been looking at, are cameras like the Canon FTB or the Olympus OM 10.

imagesO8E6EOCL       untitled

Both these cameras can be had for around $60 each, body only.  From my research, both cameras are very good and lenses are readily available for them at cheap prices.

Why do I want to shoot film?:  You might as well ask me why the sky is blue.  I don’t have a straight answer.  I must be crazy to go back nearly 40 years and pick one of these cameras up to put rolls of film through them.  I mean seriously, film??  Developing time? Negatives? What am I thinking.

On top of waiting for the film to be developed, there is obviously the cost to consider.  I figure that every roll of film would cost about $20.  This would include buying it and then having the negatives developed, but not printed.  In regards to negatives, my thought was to buy a scanner with the capability to scan 35mm film (negatives).  From there, I could run the “scans” through Photoshop and print what photos I wanted, if any at all.

What’s the point?:  Exaclty, what is the point of spending more money and more time to eventually get what you would get with a digital camera?  I suppose, first of all, I am attracted to the cameras themselves.  If you are in anyway into photography, you can’t say that the old SLRs aren’t sexy.  Not only that, but they are very well made and have a nice “hefty” feel in your hand.  It is also the thought of challenging myself a bit more that is appealing to me as well.

What camera would I choose?: Out of the two cameras mentioned above, I would purchase the Canon.  I would choose the Canon for no other reason, than the fact that I could use the FD lenses on my XP1… back to that again.

In the end, I think it would only be a bit of fun for me.  I really don’t think that I  would be picking up one of these SLRs more often then my XP1, simply because my XP1 is far more cost effective & convenient to operate.

It’s a little project that I am seriously looking into.  Perhaps before laying out the money, I will put a roll through the little Oly automatic that I have.  At least that way, I will get a clear idea of the cost.

Happy shooting

One thought on “To SLR Or Not To SLR, That Is The Question.

  1. Pingback: How to Buy a New DSLR Camera - Best Entry Level DSLR Cameras

Please share your thoughts

