New XF Lens Roadmap

Fuji has been hard at work and have developed some new lenses for the XF line-up.  With this new line-up, it seems that Fuji has “borrowed” some focal ranges from their XC line-up.

If you ask me, I wish Fuji would drop the XC line-up, save money on R&D and just lower the cost of the XF lenses.  When you compare the price of a 16-50 XC and an 18-55 XF, the difference in price is not light years – it’s $300.  Cut that difference in half, take the $150 off of the XF lens and voila!  $549 for a brand new 18-55 is far more attractive than $699.

Anyhow, I digress.  I know why Fuji makes an XC line and I highly doubt they would get rid of it any time soon.

Here are the new lenses that should be released by Fujifilm in the next year or so:

XF 16-55mm f/2.8

XF 50-140mm f/2.8

XF 18-135mm f/3.5 – 5.6

Large diameter wide angle lens

A super telephoto lens, greater than 200mm… maybe.

The 18-135 would be very appealing.  It would make a great travel/walk around lens.  I remember my Nikkor 18-105.  It was just right for everyday walkabouts and you did not have to bring along another lens.

The 16-55mm also looks interesting, but I feel that it will be even more expensive than the 18-55.  The XC line-up has a 16-55, but it does not have a constant aperture throughout it’s focal range.  Mind you, my Nikon was f/3.5-5.6 and I had no problems shooting at f/3.5 in low light, especially with today’s sensors and the VR.  So, I am not to sure that f/2.8 at the short end would benefit anyone all that much.  On the long end, YES.

Fuji certainly is slowly rounding off their lens line-up.  Though, once again, I am not going to be eager to see the price of any of these lenses.

Please share your thoughts

