The Samyang 10mm f/2.8 Ultra Wide Angle Lens

After many months of waiting, it is finally here.  Samyang has officially announced their 10mm f/2.8 UWA lens.  If it is anything like their other prime lenses, it will be a very decent lens.

I have been thinking about their 8mm for the longest time now, but 2 things have held me back: 1) the amount of distortion and the effort to correct it. 2) will I use it so much that the novelty will wear off, relegating it to my shelf?  I’m thinking that the distortion would bother me the most, especially the time to fix it.

The 8mm may still find it’s way onto my camera; but for now, I am seriously going to be looking at this 10mm.

When I had my Nikon, I had a Tamron 10-24 and I do miss it.  I really like to take wide angle shots, especially inside churches.  The nice thing about it, was the fact that there was none of that “fish-eye” distortion to deal with.

Fuji has a 10-24 on their road map, but it has been delayed until February.  Though, if the rumors about it’s price are correct, they can delay it until hell freezes over for all I care.  The Samyang will surely be more cost-effective.

Samyang will be making the lens for 9 different mounts, including the X mount.  However, I have read that the lens itself is not specifically designed for mirrorless cameras.  If you look at the specs for each mount the lens comes in, you will notice differences in the weight and length of the lens.  I am thinking that has something to do with the different mounts they have on the lens.

Here are the specs:

Aperture range: f/2.8 – f/22

Optics: 14 elements, 10 groups (2 ASP, 1 ED)

Minimum focus distance: 0.25m

Aperture blades: 6

Angle of view: 109.5 degrees

Weight: 625gr

Special coating:  Nano Crystal Anti-Reflection (better contrast, less reflection & better light transmission)

Thanks for looking.

© d7100shooter.wordpress.com, All Rights Reserved

8 thoughts on “The Samyang 10mm f/2.8 Ultra Wide Angle Lens

    1. Thanks for the head’s up. I was really tempted to buy the 8mm, but i don’t think i would be able to put up with that “fisheye” look in every photo. I know you can correct the distortion, but only to a certain degree.

      Like

  1. Thank you for introducing me to that lens. At the moment I only have the Fujinon 18mm for the X-system. When shooting landscapes or architecture there’s something missing for sure. Buying the Fujinon 14mm doesn’t really make sense to me. The difference in focal length just isn’t strong enough. So, if I really want to shoot wide-angled I have to carry the heavy Canon dSLR and its Tokina 11-16mm with me even though I don’t like it at all. I was seriously thinking about buying the Zeiss Touit 2.8/12mm. After all that I’ve heard it’s got to be a great lens, but the price…. one Grand!!! Not really what I call a snip. The Samyang seems to be a good and affordable alternative if you can bear the lack of autofocus (which is not really an issue in the super-wideangle field). I guess for about 40% of the price of the Zeiss lens I will definitely give it a try.

    Like

    1. You are welcome. I had been waiting for this lens to come out for many months. The Fuji 10-24 is not something that I can justify price wise. If the 10mm from Samyang is anything like their other lenses, it will be a winner for sure. Though, last time I looked, it was not selling/shipping from anywhere yet.

      Like

      1. Same with me. Samyang’s website does not even feature a German countryside. But they seem to have quite a lot of sellers in the UK. I guess I have to order it there. Anyhow, the 10mm lens is still filed under “latest news” on their site, so maybe we just have to wait a little more.

        Like

  2. Sounds like a winner! I love prime lenses but only own one 35mm. I have a Nikon 10-24 which I love. The wide angles are so nice ‘n sharp! Will look forward to seeing your pics!

    Like

Please share your thoughts

