Our One Box

I have not been very active on my blog lately.  There is not one single excuse that I can give, just a bunch of reasons, such as being busy, lack of inspiration, etc.  I have also been closely following the aftermath of Typhoon Yolanda.

It is interesting what can grab your attention and pull on your heartstrings.  With other disasters, everything seems so far away.  But, with the Philippines, it has hit very close to home for me.

I don’t know anyone who lives in the area that was affected, but my wife is Filipino.  I have also been to the Philippines several times and have become very fond of Filipino culture.

Watching the news when I get home in the evening (TV Patrol), I am assaulted with images and video footage that is heart breaking.  It is almost as if I am watching my own family (wife’s side) go through the horrors that those people are going through.

I can’t bear to see the kids…. The kids, the most vulnerable of all the victims.  They all look so lost and confused, I just want to be able to get them and bring them to safety.

I know, I don’t have to watch the news if it is so depressing.  But, I have a deep & emotional urge to see what is happening to a people that I love.  It just is not fair that something like this can happen to such spirited and kind people, people that already don’t have much.

We sent a Balikbayan box to ABS-CBN (they are great when it comes to charity drives/collecting money & goods) as our donation.  It most likely will not get there in time to be used in the first wave of relief goods, but at least it will get there and be put to good use.

I looked at it as it sat in the middle of my kitchen floor and it seemed so insignificant compared to what is needed.  But as they say, every little bit counts.  If we can help clothe (box was full of kids clothes) some needy kids, then I can at least rest easy at night.

Don’t ever think that you, one person, can not have any impact on such large scale disasters.  If every person in Canada were to donate $2, that would mean about $65 million dollars.  That is a lot of money.

Anyhow, I am hoping & praying that things start to get a bit better in the areas affected by Typhoon Yolanda.  It needs to get better before it gets worse and it can get worse real fast.

Please share your thoughts

