Fuji XP1: One Gripe.

DSCF0766_1632x2448

I read tons of reviews on the interweb.  One of the reasons why I settled on Fuji as a system, was because I read reviews.  However, you need to be careful who’s review you are reading.

There are only a handful of sources that I would trust in regards to giving an honest review of a camera or a lens.  When I say “handful”, I mean there are only about 4 sources that I respect and trust.  That gives new meaning to, “don’t believe everything you read on the internet”.

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of people who review cameras on the internet.  The problem is, a lot of these people should not be reviewing cameras in the first place, let alone be on the internet.  Furthermore, for people who don’t know any better, these “reviewers” are actually believed when they are far from being right.

The types of reviews that get on my nerve, are the ones that state a camera does not do certain things, when it was never intended or designed to do those things in the first place.

You read it all the time: “This camera does not do this like my DSLR did” and they put that down as a “con”.  Or, “this camera should do this and this and this!”.  Why should it? Just because you said it should?

It get’s even better when you go onto camera forums and come across people doing all sorts of tests with their camera and pointing out minor defects.  Okay, so you have a defective camera.  Get off the keyboard and return it to the store where you bought it from, because everyone else on the forum is not experiencing that “defect”.  Though, they keep going on about it, making it sound like that particular model of camera is complete rubbish.

Again, you really have to be careful what you read on the interweb.  One persons “bad” experience should not be an indicator of how you will experience the product.

As the title of my post indicates, I do have one very tiny, miniscule, gripe about the XP1.  First, I will say that this gripe will in no way take away from the XP1 being a spectacular camera.

What’s the gripe?:  the battery door and the fact that the memory card is so damn close to it.  When you have the battery door open, it is not without some delicate grasping, that you can get the memory card out.  Now, this is not a design flaw on Fuji’s part because they got it right on the X10, where the door is hinged on the left side of the compartment.  This takes the door completely out of the way and you can take out the battery and memory card without having the door interfere with you.

If I were anyone else, I would make a federal case out of this, go on every camera forum known to man and bitch about it, write to Fuji, write to my MNA…. essentially, just whine about it until I am given attention and until my pathetic little complaint is heard around the world.

No, I am not going to do that.  I know Fuji knows better (did I mention the door on the X10?) and I am sure they have received this complaint already.  Here is hoping that they do the right thing on any subsequent cameras.  If they don’t, oh well.  I care more about taking photos then not being able to take my memory card out in world record time with my giant hands!

Please share your thoughts

